Lucky & Phoebe

phoebechairnov16

I realised that I hadn’t properly “christened”my new blog as I haven’t shared any new photos of Lucky & Phoebe. It’s been an unusually cool start to summer here (apart from two hot days last week) so I took the opportunity yesterday to steam my Christmas pudding – having the stove on for 8 hours is more appealing on a 20C day than a 38C day.My reading chair is the favourite vantage point for both girls to supervise whatever I happen to be doing in the kitchen. Phoebe prefers the back of the chair.

phoebechairsleepnov16I’m not sure how much supervising was going on because less than 5 minutes after I took the first photo, she was fast asleep (until I appeared with the camera when she opened her eyes but didn’t otherwise move). She often sleeps with her head right down among the cushions like that.

luckynov16Lucky, on the other hand, was happily sitting on my lap until I got up to add more water to the saucepan.The reproachful, slightly wary look is her usual expression when I creep up with the camera trying to take photos.

Have a good week everyone.

7 thoughts on “Lucky & Phoebe

  1. Cute kitties, Lyn! I had a cat years ago (back in the 70s/80s) named Lucky. The name came about because we found him crouched on the center stripe of a local highway. He was only around 6-8 weeks old.

    Like

    • He certainly was lucky to survive that experience! My Lucky was adopted from a local shelter. She’s still very timid, even with me & she’s lived here 6 years now,
      jumps at the slightest noise. I took her to the vet for her 6 monthly checkup this morning & she just trembled the whole time.

      Liked by 1 person

      • My Lucky had a few interesting days before settling into the family. He was so frightened and scratched the heck out of us so we put him on an enclosed back porch for the night with something, I forget what, probably scrambled eggs or something. Somehow overnight he crawled into the squirrel cage of the evaporative cooler. Then of course couldn’t get out because whenever he tried to climb out, it would just spin around. When one of us would hold it still, and he’d manage to come to the front, he would be too scared of us to come out. Eventually of course he did and in a few days became quite tame and graduated to having the run of the house.

        Like

  2. Our last cat, Turtle, used to sleep like Phoebe, with her head stuffed into the corner of a chair or sofa. I used to worry that she’d suffocate herself!
    Thanks for sharing your kitties with us. They’re lovely, both lucky cats.

    Like

Leave a Reply

