A Visit to the Farmers Market

I visited the local farmers market in Lilydale yesterday morning. It’s held on the first Sunday of the month & this was my first visit. It won’t be my last as I found everything I wanted & a few little extras as well. Saturday was grey & rainy &, even though I’d planned to visit the market, I did think as I went to sleep to the sound of rain on the roof, that I wouldn’t go if it was still raining in the morning. There’s always next month. Well, it was a gorgeously crisp, sunny late winter morning so off I went. The morning was the best of the day as it was cloudy & damp by lunchtime. Just as well I brought some sunshine back with me. I couldn’t resist those golden daffodils at 3 bunches for $5. Spring is just around the corner, after all.

There are some things I always buy at markets. Free range eggs & honey.

Fruit & veg. Lovely tomatoes & mandarins. Pumpkin & zucchini for the chicken curry I made yesterday. Far too many carrots & potatoes (but they were so cheap!). Carrot & potato soup, anyone? I also see a carrot cake appearing for morning tea at work in the very near future.

Then, there were the treats. I don’t eat lots of jam but I always seem to buy it at markets. I love fig jam so I bought a jar of that. The other is plum. I have a lovely chocolate cake recipe that includes half a cup of jam so I’ll use the plum for that.

Soap is something else I always buy at markets. I love lavender, it’s one of my favourite scents & really strongly scented lavender soap is just heaven. Look at the swirls in the lavender & rosemary soap, just gorgeous. I wish you could smell the vanilla & honey in the vanilla, honey, chamomile & aloe vera soap. These soaps are all handmade & contain no chemicals or animal products. I usually use unscented Sorbolene or Pears soap but every now & then (usually just after I’ve been to a market), I crave a little luxury. If these live up to their scent, I’ll be back for more at the next market. A very successful morning. I got everything I wanted & helped the local economy as well. Now I just have to find the perfect carrot & potato soup recipe…

2 thoughts on “A Visit to the Farmers Market

  1. I'd forgotten that you're in the other hemisphere…of course we're just getting ready to put this hot sticky summer to bed (at least I hope so). Though carrot and potato soup sounds lovely for late summer/early fall, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

