Abby’s rose garden – the beginning

Here are the first pictures of Abby’s rose garden which I wrote about here. My friend P & I finished planting the roses yesterday. P did most of the hard work of digging up the old plants, I did lots of pointing & deciding which colours would look right where. Perfect division of labour, I thought!

There’s not much to see at the moment except lots of twiggy plants but I’ll keep you all updated on the garden’s progress. The details of the roses I chose are in my previous post on the garden at the link above. I left the spring bulbs in place & I think they’ll look lovely in a couple of months. They’re white & cream jonquils & daffodils so they’ll contrast beautifully with the green foliage & then, in summer, the red & pink roses will bloom.

My friend J at work bought me a lovely gift when Abby died. It’s a Best Friend rose, sold by the RSPCA especially for people who have lost a pet so I’ve planted it in a very special place in the front corner of the garden.
I picked up Abby’s ashes from the vet yesterday as well & I’ll be scattering them among her roses in the spring when the plants are looking a little more like roses & a little less like twigs.

4 thoughts on “Abby’s rose garden – the beginning

  1. I'll keep everyone up to date on the garden's progress, Jo. I'm even looking forward to summer for the first time in my life! I want to smell those roses!

    Like

Leave a Reply

